Just Another Day At Parris Island (essay1)

                I’ve been longing for this moment for years and now it’s finally here. Growing up I always loved playing army as a kid and once I got into high school, I started to do more research about the military and the different branches. The Marine Corp stood out more than the rest and I started to watch tons videos on YouTube. It felt like I watched every bootcamp video on YouTube and the idea of becoming part of something that was bigger than yourself is what drew me in the most and once I earned that tittle it is something that can never be taken away from me and I will be a part of a lifelong brotherhood. It was September 8th 2015 when I arrived to recruit depot Parris Island South Carolina and my dream of become a Marine started to become a reality. I spent countless hours preparing for this moment but when it arrived, I still wasn’t ready for what was to come I just knew that I was going to be pushed to my limits both physically and mentally knowing everything I do won’t be good enough and being held to the highest standard at all times. My transformation from recruit to Marine happened in 3 phases (with the transformation becoming more evident each phase).     

                The first step in the transformation after standing on the yellow foot prints was to walk through the big shiny silver hatches(door) that symbolize the threshold between the outside world and Parris Island. As I was waiting outside the door the Drill Instructor screams (fast, sharp, and loud) “You will walk through these hatches one time and one time only”. Form there myself and the other recruits were processed and assigned to our platoons- mine was 3093. From the very begging I had to move with a purpose, respond when spoken to and very word that came out of my mouth needed to be sharp, fast and loud, really loud (I lost my voice within the first hour of being there). When we were done with the initial intake, we were instructed to read a card on the wall and call home letting our loved ones know that we arrived safely and that we will be in further contact without giving the other person on the line any time to reply. “Read the card and hang up say nothing more or nothing less, you got three tries.” said the DI. From there our heads were shaved, they broke us down and we could no longer say “I, me, my” it was “this recruit, that recruit, these recruits” that was start of the team building process. I was issued cammies and gear, it felt like the process took days because the DI would have us sit in an empty room for what seemed forever to think about what was next as we went from building to building getting all our essentials (A mental strategy of that I had no doubt). Finally, after about 2-3 days of little sleep and constant running around the island we are in our squad bay waiting to meet our actual Drill Instructors that will be with us everywhere we go and the ones molding us into United States Marines. They came out in perfect cadence, aligned and in-step with perfectly pressed uniforms without a wrinkle in sight. The senior DI gave his speech and as he spoke, I feet goosebumps, the chills, butterflies in stomach all of it because this was the start of phase one and something truly life changing. A Marine is a man of character, a Marine is a man of honor and a Marine never lies, cheats, or steals and that’s what I wanted to be for so long. Once he’s done, he and other DI’s explode into action having us race on line. When they tell us to do something, we do with speed and intensity and I mean everything we do. They relate it towards combat because if you move slow there the consequence are great and unforgiving. We spent hours on hours in the class room learning customs and traditions, and PT’d (physical training) a whole lot. We went through obstacle course and team building excises together, people from all walks of life and all different ages coming together as one and working as one to accomplish the goal. I had a new way of doing everything that I did all the way down to the way I eat and get dressed. I learned how to act selflessly and work with people even though at first, we might have bumped heads. 

                Going into second phase we started to do more of what I thought being a Marine was all about- “Rifle Marksmanship Training”. It started with a week worth of classes in the “grass week” were we learned the all about the M16 A2 service rifle and the fundamentals of marksmanship- that was thought to us by want is known as a PMI (personal marksman instructor). He or she was brought in to teach us so we would feel more relaxed about firing instead of being torn apart by our DI’s. Of course, when recruits would nod off in class, or the PMI feels like we weren’t paying attention, even a bathroom break was grounds to be taken for run and “play games” as the drill instructors called it. Then that was followed by 5 days of firing the fifth day being qualification day where we had to shoot a certain number of points in different shooting positions and ranges. It was my first time ever shooting a gun so I was kind of nervous and to be honest didn’t know if I was going to score as high as I hope for. There are three categories of score Marksman, Sharpshooter, and Expert and once I heard my PMI tell I shot Expert I realized maybe I shouldn’t go into things doubting myself but rather go into it with a mindset of not only am I going to do this but I’m going to do it well. We also had what we called the “Company Commander’s Inspection”. We spent countless hours ironing our uniforms, cleaning the squad bay getting ready to be tested on everything we learned up to that point. I learned that even the smallest details matter and that everything no matter how small needs to be done right and not halfassed. By this time, we’ve been taught what’s expected us but nerves kick in and some forget movements that they been practicing every day for the past 60 days- but overall, that is to be expected because it is our first time. Never the less there is still no excuse for failure and those that didn’t pass inspection are gifted with a nice IT (intense training) session. Don’t worry they can’t last no more than 10 minutes but man oh man you are getting WORKED for the entire 10 minutes- best believe the senior Drill Instructor will get his as he used to say. I didn’t mind all the exercises they made us do but I hated all that sand getting in my pants and shirt from the sand pits all around base.

                Entering into third phases we were handed a red guide on (our platoon’s flag) to tell everyone on the base that we are in third phase. It was the first time we were introduced to the field, things such as sleeping out in the field, eating MRE’s (meal ready to eat) on regular basis and just over all not having the comforts that the squad bay or back home provides. We went through what is known as BWT (basic warrior training) which is a testing of the basic fundamentals of maneuverer under fire, combat formation, and hand and arms signals- both day and night. We had to overcome tons obstacles such as high walls, fields of barbed wired and mud and many others. They assigned casualties to cause stress and emulate the fog of war. I remember this one course where I had to crawl, I don’t even know how far under barbed wire holding it up with my rifle (its known as The Crawl of Death). It must have been like the third day and I was so tired I stop to take break under the wire but not too long after (as soon as I stop) a DI comes out of nowhere and says “Your buddy is dead (make believe), drag him through the wire”. I couldn’t say no but I was SO TIRED it felt like I couldn’t do it. “You got this come on” says the person on my back and I dig deep, deeper than what I thought possible and I started crawling but this time with the motivation and the will to succeed it was easier. I realized that the only limits we have are the limits we give ourselves, there are no limits just the goal and whatever it takes to accomplish that goal. Another big part of third phase is the platoon photo. It shows how far along we’ve come and how we respond and act and how we have a better understanding of the Marine Corps structure and the way it works. I have never been more excided for a picture before we were in our desert cammies looking lean and mean and I started to feel that sense of being a part of something that is bigger than myself. The last test and the final rite of passage to become a Marine is the Crucible. It’s a 48-hour event with just 4 hours of sleep and two meals and we were broken down into fire teams (teams of four) which is the base of small unit leadership in the Marine Corp. I had to put everything I have learned over the past three months into use. We were tired and frustrated and didn’t always have the best ideas but, in the end, we came together and got the job done. I learned that when working in group it is important to listen to everyone’s ideas. The final task to become a Marine is 9-mile hike back to the Iwo Jima monument to receive our Eagle, Glob, and Anchors (EAG). Walking back, I could feel the blisters popping on my feet, my back was sore and I was hungry but none of that mattered I didn’t let it stop me, no one stopped or slowed down and everyone was just as tired as I was, the final goal was in site and we were getting there no matter what. During that ceremony the sense of pride is overwhelming and pretty much every recruit there was standing there with tears in his or her eyes as they receive their EAG’s. I’ve dreamed of this moment but it was far better than I ever imagined, over that past three month I learned how to become a leader and also know when to be lead, I have become grateful for all of things that I once took for granted. I learned that I am capable of whatever I set my mind to and that I will be a Marine for the rest of my days and will part of a brotherhood that will never die.

                On December 4th 2015 my time at Parris Island was done. We marched across the parade deck for the final time with our heads high, hearts filled with joy as our families cheer from the stands. I was tested and pushed past the limits I thought were possible. I formed an incredible bond with people and it’s something that words can’t fully explain but something you have to go through to fully understand.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *